Facebook Sell Outs

I have been following marketing and business blogs for a few years now and have found an increasing amount of them using Facebook as their bulletin board for the past year. It’s gotten so bad lately that EVERY email I get is from someone who pimps their Facebook page in at least half of their emails.

I want to see a marketing guru who doesn’t use Facebook and doesn’t give free advertising to this obscene website. I swear they’ve all sold out to this monster of a man, Mark Zuckerburg. I want to see one social networking class, info-product or blog post that doesn’t recommend Facebook.

Alright. I can admit seeing anti-Facebook proponents a few times. But they’re not loud enough. They need to make bigger waves. Because this pond has gotten way too big and those tiny ripples are not getting MZ’s attention in the slightest.

It’s seriously driving me nuts.

I have almost unsubscribed from more than a few of those newsletters. One journaling class I subscribe to I haven’t attended since she let everyone know where the support forum is held – Facebook.

And why does my phone automatically correct facebook to Facebook? Seriously Steve, WTF? That word should be marked as misspelled every time. (blogging from my phone)

So, anywho. I’m just sick and tired of all this Facebook nonsense. I don’t want to come back. I’ve been away for a very happy, very productive 15 months. I don’t miss it, though I do feel left out. I will never return to it and if Google+ fucks up their privacy settings, I’m leaving that network as well.

Facebook, don’t learn from your patrons, just die already. Go the way of myspace and become obsolete. For the benefit of the world. For the benefit of our sanity.

Oh and it should be illegal for you to get fired based on images and personal sites on the web. It should be covered under the same laws as the disability act. Not really, but you get what I’m saying. One phrase: my personal life does not affect my business life, therefor my personal life should not be a hiring determinant.

I could go on, but I won’t. I’m accepting trackbacks and twitter comments, so if you have a response, be sure to use the permalink at the top of the page. Thanks.

About BrooklyneChaos

What about me? Would any adjective change your opinion or help you better understand where I come from? I don't think so. If you really must know more, read my blog. It'll tell you everything and nothing about me -- all at the same time. View all posts by BrooklyneChaos

Comments are disabled.

