Eat Teflon

I’ve been so busy these last few days that I haven’t been able to post a blog. I try to post them about every other day, so 3-4 a week. If you have read my previous blog, you know that I just got back from a 10 day vacation in Mexico. I got settled in pretty quickly after that and had a blog for you the very next evening. Sunday should have been my blogging day, but we hung a pot rack in the kitchen instead.

Yup, a pot rack. Our cross beams were too far from the wall and going the wrong way, so a 20 minute project turned into an all day project. We were successfully able to build strong joists between the cross beams. It turned out awesome. Now I have a hanging pot rack for my Calphalon pans. They look so pretty hanging out in the open.

11th-birthday-001

The only picture of my pans hanging happily on their potrack is at my sons 11th Bday party.

A few years ago I decided to stop eating teflon and invested in some better pans. I think I paid $350 for the set. I share the price because it’s no small feat for a person on a low income budget and it helps me make my point later. But after years of picking teflon out of my food because all I could afford were pans from target, I decided to take some of my taxes and invest in pans. Research taught me that this endeavor will be a life time investment. Some of the nicer pans can last your entire life. Others can last as little as 20 years. I did the math and it worked out to being a quarter the price I would pay for the pans I was buying before. I just had to bite the bullet and make that initial investment. I’ve had them for 3 years now and have become a pan snob. I won’t use the cheap ones. The only other pans I use are cast iron. And, let’s face it, those are amazing.

A drawback, to be honest, to having the nicer pans, is they MUST be hand washed. The dish washer just gets too hot and the temperatures fluctuate so much that they get ruined and would have to be replaced sooner. Even the toughest baked on crap simply needs an overnight soak before cleaning. The hand washing part really hasn’t been that big of a deal. Even now that I have a dishwasher [and I don’t mean my 13 yo son] I still wash them by hand without a grudge.

I like to use a product called Barkeepers friend to keep them shiny and pretty. It’s a mild abrasive they use for stainless steel. It can work out almost any stain left from cooking [eggs are the worst] and requires a little bit of elbow grease. Luckily you only need to do it about every 5th time you use the pan.

Without saying, though I am, I am for paying a little more for things that will last longer. I buy $100 jeans when they’re on sale – that’s a story and a half! I have no problem paying more for chocolate, makeup, face wash, etc. I have a story for each of them. Validations, I suppose you could call them. I call them motivators. A motivation for me to buy nicer anything is that the cheaper stuff is turning out to cost more in the long run. When I buy things I want them to last a long time. I buy $100 jeans [on sale] because cheaper jeans don’t fit as well and last a third of the time. I buy $350 pans because I will never have to buy them again. The trade off is a long term investment. For things that last longer, you simply have to pay more.

My pots and pans now have a new spot in our new home and I’m happy it finally got done. I really should get a better picture of them. Me being silly, showing off my sons cupcakes, is not the best representation for such amazing pans. Okay, I over did it there. If there’s one thing I can leave you with it’s this: I implore you to consider the price for the investment. There can be nothing good that comes from eating teflon. Think of all the pans you have bought in the past 20 years [or less if you’re younger]. Think of all the money you have spent so far on pans, replace those pans every 3 years and compare the price to what I paid for pans that may last me the rest of my life with a minimum of 20 years. I bet it’s higher. I bet $350 is looking pretty good. Treat yourself, responsibly.

About BrooklyneChaos

What about me? Would any adjective change your opinion or help you better understand where I come from? I don't think so. If you really must know more, read my blog. It'll tell you everything and nothing about me -- all at the same time. View all posts by BrooklyneChaos

Comments are disabled.

