Happy 4th of July!

Declare independence graphic

I’m not one for celebrating holidays. I find them annoying and superfluous. I don’t see the point to most of them. I admit I need Mother’s and Father’s Day to remember to show my appreciation to my parents. The rest of them can stop today and I won’t blink an eye. All, except July 4th.

I’m not the most patriotic person. I get annoyed with Americans like campers get annoyed with mosquitoes. I carry repellent, have a tendency to slap the really annoying ones and avoid activities where there are too many of them around.

In contrast, I find American history amazing. It’s full of amazing people and amazing events – despite the fact that we stole this land like a meth addict steals a car.

Don’t get me wrong, I love where I live, I just don’t love the culture here. And this is the point where I separate the culture from the country. I have come to a point in my life where I can do that. I am happy with the freedoms I do have. I am happy being a part of a country that is so gung ho for freedom that we force it on other people. The forcing part is a bit contradictory to the freedom part, but you cannot deny our passion. Being passionate gives character and despite Hollywood, America has character.

So, this 4th of July – the day we celebrate our independence from a Monarchy – I will separate the idiots from the country and appreciate, a little deeper, the freedom that this country provides. A freedom that allows me to sit here and say what I mean. A freedom that allows me the right to vote, work and wear what I want. A freedom that ensures my civil rights and punishes anyone who would take them away from me. To freedom!!

About BrooklyneChaos

What about me? Would any adjective change your opinion or help you better understand where I come from? I don't think so. If you really must know more, read my blog. It'll tell you everything and nothing about me -- all at the same time. View all posts by BrooklyneChaos

Comments are disabled.

